Students going on a GT Exchange Abroad Program for a semester or summer must use the Foreign Credit Approval Form for GT Exchange Programs (FCA) to request approval for foreign courses to transfer to GT. The FCA form can be found here

  • In order to participate in a GT Exchange Program you MUST turn in an FCA form before you leave the country to study abroad. You will be given a specific due date by your advisor during orientation.
  • Failure to turn in an FCA form before you leave could result in you earning no credit while abroad or endangering eligibility for financial aid, loans, scholarships, HOPE or ZELL.
  • Not all courses will be approved for GT credit, so it is important to start the process as soon as possible. For example, sports courses do not transfer back to GT at all.
  • The steps for GT foreign credit transfer are as follows (please type or fill in the FCA form in dark ink):
     
    1. Check OSCAR to see if courses are already approved. If the course is already approved on OSCAR, write out its equivalent in column three and write, “OSCAR,” in the signature line.
    2. Obtain copies of the syllabi for the courses that are not already approved and you are planning on taking abroad.
    3. Check the credit transfer system for your planned program. These differ from school to school. For example, our European partners largely use ECTS. 1.4 ECTS equals 1 GT credit hour. Check the OIE website or contact your education abroad advisor for your host university’s credit transfer system. Fill in the top portion of the FCA form and the first column, “Courses to be taken abroad.”
    4. Take the form, course descriptions/syllabi and the credit transfer system to the appropriate GT faculty/staff member for approval. The list of approvers can be found on the next page of this document
    5. The approver completes the FCA, signs in the column three by each approved course and then checks the appropriate type of approval in column four/five if s/he agrees to approve courses for transfer. The type of credit transferred is at the discretion of the academic unit that teaches the course at GT.
    6. After the appropriate faculty members have signed, you will need to take the form to your MAJOR school for signature. This signature is required, even if you will not take major courses abroad.
    7. You must sign and date the form and keep a copy for your records.
    8. Bring the form to OIE, Savant Building – Suite 211. We will acquire the last two signatures for you (OIE signature and Registrar signature).
    9. The form will then be uploaded to your Atlas account, for your future reference.

Reminders:

  • List backup courses. You are not required to take all courses that you list. You may fill out as many FCAs as you need. You do not need to know exactly what you are taking abroad.
  • In some cases, transfer credit is not awarded until course work, exams, etc are reviewed. Save all notes, syllabi, exams, term papers and textbooks so that, if requested, you will be able to provide extensive information on the content of your course.
  • We round credits down – so if a course is worth 3.57 GT credits after conversion, you will receive 3 GT credit hours for that course.
  • You must receive a “C” or better in order for courses to transfer to GT. The GPA you earn abroad will not affect your GT GPA, but it will affect your financial aid GPA.
  • If you have ANY QUESTIONS about this process, please contact your OIE advisor.

Contact List to Request Approval for International Transfer Credit

Type of Credit for which you are requesting approval (all are for undergraduate approval unless otherwise specified)

Contact Person

E-mail address

Aerospace Engineering/AE

Chris Lundy

william.lundy@aerospace.gatech.edu

Architecture/ARCH/COA

Shaunitra Wisdom

Nitra.wisdom@coa.gatech.edu

Biology/BIOS/ APPH

Dr. Mirjana Brockett

Dr. Teresa Snow

mirjana.brockett@biology.gatech.edu

Teresa.snow@ap.gatech.edu

Biomedical Engineering/BME

Dr. Esfandiar Behravesh

e.behravesh@bme.gatech.edu

Building Construction/BC

Lorie Wooten

Dr. Daniel Castro

lorie.wooten@coa.gatech.edu

daniel.castro@coa.gatech.edu

Business/MGT/ACCT

-Undergraduate Students

 

-Graduate Students

 

Shivani Patel

 

Peter Severa, Saed Reyes

 

shivani.patel@scheller.gatech.edu

 

peter.severa@scheller.gatech.edu, saed.reyes@scheller.gatech.edu

Chemical & Bimolecular Engineering/ChBE

Dr. Victor Breedveld

breedveld@gatech.edu

Chemistry & Biochemistry/CHEM

Dr. Pamela Pollet

pamela.pollet@chemistry.gatech.edu

Civil & Environmental Engineering/CEE

Dr. Tracy Boothe

Tracy.boothe@ce.gatech.edu

City Planning/CP

Anna Traykova

anna.traykova@design.gatech.edu

College of Engineering/COE (2001 & 3001)

Dr. Mitchell Walker

mitchell.walker@coe.gatech.edu

Computer Science/CS

-Undergraduate Students

-Graduate Students

 

Pauline Glenn

Becky Wilson

 

pauline.glenn@cc.gatech.edu

Rwilson@cc.gatech.edu

Earth & Atmospheric Sciences/EAS

Dr. Dana Hartley

dana.hartley@eas.gatech.edu

Economics/ECON

*Please provide full syllabus when asking

Matthew Oliver

matthew.oliver@econ.gatech.edu

Electrical & Computer Engineering/ECE

Dr. Joyelle Harris

joyelle.harris@ece.gatech.edu

General Credit (Social Sciences, Humanities, Free Electives)

REGISTRAR’S OFFICE:

Makesia Scott

 

Makesia.scott@registrar.gatech.edu

History, Technology & Society/HTS

Dr. Jennifer Singh

 

jennifer.singh@hsoc.gatech.edu

 

Human Computer interaction/HCI

David White

udavid.white@cc.gatech.edu

Industrial Design/ID

Troy Whyte

troy.whyte@coa.gatech.edu

Industrial & Systems Engineering/ISyE

Dr. Chen Zhou

chen.zhou@isye.gatech.edu

International Affairs/ INTA

Dr. Mikulas Fabry

mfabry@gatech.edu

Literature, Media & Communication/LMC

Dr. JC Reilly

jc.reilly@lmc.gatech.edu

Mathematics/MATH -Undergraduate Students

-Graduate Students

 

Undergraduate Program Office Graduate Program Office

 

academics@math.gatech.edu

grad-coordinator@math.gatech.edu

Materials Science & Engineering/MSE -Undergraduate Students

 

Dr. Mary Lynn Realff

 

Marylynn.realff@mse.gatech.edu

Mechanical Engineering/ME

Nuclear and Radiological Engineering/NRE

Dr. Al Ferri

al.ferri@me.gatech.edu

Modern Languages/foreign language credit

Arabic: Natalie Khazaal

Chinese: Lu Liu

French: Andrea Jonsson

German: Hyoun-A Joo

Japanese: Kyoko Masuda

Korean: Yongtaek Kim

Linguistics (English): Lelia Glass

Russian: Dina Khapaeva

Spanish: Cecilia Montes-Alcala

nkhazaal3@gatech.edu

lliu422@gatech.edu

ajonsson7@gatech.edu

joo.hyouna@gatech.edu

kyoko.masuda@modlangs.gatech.edu

yongtaek.kim@modlangs.gatech.edu

lelia.glass@modlangs.gatech.edu

dina.khapaeva@modlangs.gatech.edu

cecilia@gatech.edu

Music /MUSI

Dr. Jason Freeman

Corissa Jones

jason.freeman@gatech.edu

corissa.jones@music.gatech.edu

Neuroscience / NEUR

Dr. Mary Holder

mary.holder@psych.gatech.edu

Physics/PHYS

*Please provide full syllabus when asking

Dr. Brian Kennedy

brian.kennedy@physics.gatech.edu

Polymer, Textile & Fiber Engineering/PTFE

Dr. Mary Lynn Realff

marylynn.realff@mse.gatech.edu

Psychology/PSYC

Meghan Babcock 

meghan.babcock@psych.gatech.edu

Public Policy/PUBP/POL/LAW/PST

-Undergraduate Students

 

-Graduate Students

 

Dr. Richard Barke (PUBP & POL)

Dr. Michael Hoffmann (PST)

Johnnie Sawyer

 

richard.barke@pubpolicy.gatech.edu

michael.hoffmann@pubpolicy.gatech.edu

johnnie.sawyer@pubpolicy.gatech.edu